----- Experience in your own room the magical nature of stereo sound -----

 

 

What's new

 

LX - Store

 

Conversations
with Fitz

 

OPLUG
Forum

 

Basics

The Magic in 2-Channel Sound

 

Dipole models

Active filters

Amplifiers etc

Microphone

FAQ's

Loudspeakers

Crossovers

Room acoustics

Stereo Recording and Rendering

Audio production

Conclusions

 

Projects

Your own design

LXmini

LXmini+2

LXstudio

LX521.4

LX521
reference

ORION
challenge

ORION-3.4

PLUTO-2.1

WATSON-SEL

PLUTO+
subwoofer

THOR
subwoofer

PHOENIX
dipole speaker

Three-Box active
system (1978)

Reference
earphones

Surround
sound

Loudspeaker
& Room

 

Resources

Publications

Sound recordings

Links

Other designs

My current setup

About me

Site map

 

HOME

 

------------------
Digital Photo
Processes

 

------------------
The
Sea Ranch

 

------------------
My Daughter
the Jeweler

 

What's new

 

LX - Store

 

Conversations
with Fitz

 

OPLUG
Forum

 

 

 


| Challenge | Requirements | Supplies | Promotion | Subwoofer | Photos | Reviews | ASP | FAQ | Revision 0.1 | Revision 2ORION-3 | ORION-4 | ORION-5 |

 

ORION reviews, letters, discussions

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AXPONA, Chicago 2013 -- Stereophile Magazine -- Home Theater Shack -- The Absolute Sound -- AVshowreports --

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Orion Gateway -- Eric Weitzman's website

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Linkwitz Orions beaten by Behringer ........ what!!?

This is a DIY Forum discussion that started in 2010, died down and was brought back to life again in 2013. It is about a listening test that took place in response to my 2009 AES Convention paper "The challenge to find the optimum radiation pattern and placement of stereo loudspeakers in a room for the creation of phantom sources and simultaneous masking of real sources". At the 2010 AES Convention David Clarke presented the paper "Listening Tests for the Effect of Speaker Directivity and Positioning on Auditory Scene Perception" ( Preprint #8307). I refrain from a comparative discussion of claims, observations and conclusions of the two papers. A critical analysis of Clarke's paper will show the inadequacy of listener selection and training, program material selection, and statistical analysis to validate or refute my paper. Also note that Preprints are not peer reviewed, unlike papers published in the Journal of the Audio Engineering Society. Convention papers are mostly about work in progress and not as definitive as Journal publication. Reader beware. 

The renewed DIY Forum discussion in 2013 ranges far and wide, which is not surprising, given the obviously wide knowledge and experience range of contributors. Agreement and consent are elusive, though many valid observations and some solid material are presented. Wade carefully through the mass of writings and skip over the garbage.

 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

The Dutch magazine writes about DIY construction of the ORION and its sonic performance.
Jan Didden interviews Siegfried Linkwitz (complete article in English here)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AXPONA, Jacksonville 2012 - Stereophile Magazine - Enjoy the Music.com -

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RMAF 2011 - Confessions of a Part-Time Audiophile

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

8 January 2013
The Final Mod: Orion 3.3.1SN

12 July 2011
ORION-3.3 and ORION-4

10 December 2010
ORION-3.2.1

30 March, 2008
Peter Aczel reviews the ORION++ loudspeaker system.

30 July, 2005 
Postscript to the ORION review.

6 February, 2005
Review of the ORION loudspeaker. 
It has been reprinted here with permission of 
The Audio Critic web magazine.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SHOW REPORTS - AXPONA NYC 2011

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

26 June 2011
AXPONA NYC 2011

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AXPONA NY Show Report in HD Video. and on YouTube

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

26 June 2011
AXPONA NYC 2011

21 April 2011
AXPONA Atlanta 2011

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

QUOTE - 6/2/10

Hello Siegfried

My Orions were completed about 6 weeks ago, thank you for a superb design – one word “stunning” - the B&W 800D’s will be sold.

You may be interested: 
I powered the ASP’s from two separate linear regulators one for each channel sharing a common toroidal xformer, ASP’s and PS’s all housed in a 2U chassis, noise floor absolutely an abyss, I didn’t bother measuring. 
Amplification 2 x 6chan 60W Rotel Power Amps (AT6012 not an economic proposition in Australia)

I  proceeded on this venture on the basis of faith - sound unheard – (although I had given much thought to the out of the box dipole concept), I am glad I did. The auditory scene, the illusion, is transparent. An experienced hifi (retailer) and keen hifi /music enthusiasts (regular listeners) have auditioned, the common observation is “Three Dimensional stage with utter neutrality”. I expected the sound stage, I didn’t anticipate the tonality and depth of bass - after comparing with the B&W 800D’s (which are very good speakers indeed), I now understand “box sound”. Box speakers are musical instrument’s by nature, the Orion is a reproducer.

The overwhelming effect is an enveloping sound field, the depth of image created no matter where the listener sits, the sweet spot is effectively broadened and follows the listener around the room even behind the speakers. 

I would be pleased to demonstrate the Orion to intending purchasers in Brisbane, Australia.

Best regards, Michael Leo

Mob (0)411 111902

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

29 August, 2005

The August/September issue of The Sensible Sound (#105) carries a review of the ORION loudspeaker by Glenn Strauss. 
It has been reprinted here.

The Free Library

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

April 2005

On the website www.6moons.com Srajan Ebaen describes and reviews an ORION construction project.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Since the ORION introduction in September 2002 there have been many reviews and comments written on the Internet about the speaker's performance by those who built it and others who spent time listening to it. For a while I kept a list, but links broke. Below are a few remaining samples.  You can find more current references by searching the web. 
Specific questions can be answered by the ORION Users Group.

 


QUOTES
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:04 am 

Today, in 42C heat (that's 105F to you guys Stateside!), I visited Aurelius (aka Mark) to audition his Seigfried Linkwitz Orion, with Music PC, Scott Nixon DAC, and Squeezebox 2. All amps were AKSAN+s.

The system is just incandescent, to use a word which also applies to George Clooney's new film, 'Goodnight, and Good Luck'.

Incredible speed, in all bands. Articulation to die for. Layering and complete absence from intermodulation across the entire range, even to very high SpLs. Engagement which was palpable. I cannot think of a single criticism of this system and am now completely converted to the Dark Side. If there is anyone here thinking of an active system, this is the one, and it is just stupendous. 
<snip> 

Cheers,

Hugh
_________________
Hugh R. Dean
Director
Aspen Amplifiers P/L
Melbourne AUSTRALIA
www.aksaonline.com

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sent: Tuesday, January 27, 2004 6:47 PM
Subject:
Two channel versus surround sound

Siegfried,

I have been listening to my Orions plus Thor's plus Odins in various combinations for close to six months now and just wanted to say that without any reservations that when listening to conventional CD's, Vinyl, a majority of my DVD multi-channel DTS-Dolby discs my preferred arrangement is stereo on the Orions with my surround sound processor working in a straight through direct stereo mode.

I entertained a long time friend and Jazz pianist recently, somebody who spent some of the most engaged times of his life "in" the magic of jazz musicians and his comments after 4 hours of continuous listening were, "I found myself reduced to tears by the emotion of the music, I've never felt that way before except when performing."

I also many times feel the same way.

Thank you again

Mike Singleton

 

(See also my observations about the usefulness of a center speaker for multi-channel music reproduction.)

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 


| Challenge | Requirements | Supplies | Promotion | Subwoofer | Photos | Reviews | ASP | FAQ | Revision 0.1 | Revision 2 | ORION-3 | ORION-4 |

 

 

What you hear is not the air pressure variation in itself 
but what has drawn your attention
in the streams of superimposed air pressure variations 
at your eardrums

An acoustic event has dimensions of Time, Tone, Loudness and Space
Have they been recorded and rendered sensibly?

___________________________________________________________
Last revised: 06/12/2017   -  © 1999-2017 LINKWITZ LAB, All Rights Reserved